The City University of New York and Colleges of the City University of New York

The City University of New York…

which was created by state legislation in 1961, has evolved from a “Free Academy” underwritten by the people of New York City in 1847 into a “public entity” of 11 senior colleges, seven community colleges, the William E. Macaulay Honors College at CUNY, the Graduate School and University Center, the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism, the CUNY School of Law, the CUNY School of Medicine, the CUNY School of Professional Studies, and the CUNY School of Public Health. Article 125 of the New York State Education Law (Sections 6201, et. seq.) establishes The City University of New York as a separate and distinct body, corporate governed by a Board of Trustees. Prior to 1979, the members of this Board were convened as “The Board of Higher Education,” which had been established in 1926.

Of the Board’s 17 members, 10 are appointed by the Governor, including one from each borough; five are appointed by the Mayor, including one from each borough; and two are elected ex officio members: the Chairperson of the University Faculty Senate, who does not vote; and the Chairperson of the University Student Senate, who may vote. In general, the Board sets policy and approves actions of the University, determines the Bylaws of the University, from which all units derive or adopt specific governance structures, and appoints the Chancellor of the University and the presidents of its colleges.

The Chancellor oversees the administration of policies approved by the Board, recommends to the Board policies and actions on all educational activities of the University, and coordinates college matters involving business and financial procedures and management. It is the Chancellor’s responsibility as well, with the advice of the Council of Presidents, to prepare the operating and capital budgets of the University for consideration by the Board and presentation to the State and City. Administrative and staff support to these operations of the University, and to the Board, are provided through a structure of Vice Chancelleries and Deanships.

The Council of Presidents of the several colleges is established by the Bylaws of the University and is chaired by the Chancellor. The Council not only advises the Chancellor on the budget and on the formulation and revision of a Master Plan for public higher education in the City, but it may recommend directly to the Board in matters concerning the physical and instructional development of the University at large. The President of each college unit is specifically charged with the administration of his or her own institution and in this capacity he or she is responsible directly to the Board.

Within each institution, governance structures are established to meet unique needs and objectives; some of these structures may be at variance with plans called for in the University Bylaws, but are permitted by them. Under these Bylaws, responsibilities for policy at the college level are shared by the President, the Faculty, and students. The President has affirmative responsibility for conserving and enhancing the educational standards and general academic excellence of the college under his or her jurisdiction and is responsible to the Board as its advisor and executive agent on his or her campus. The President is also directed to consult with the Faculty, through appropriate bodies, on matters of appointments, reappointments, and promotions. One means of this consultation is provided for in the Bylaws through the requirement for a Committee on Faculty Personnel and Budget at each college.

The Bylaws reserve to the Faculty of each institution, subject to guidelines established by the Board of Trustees, responsibility for the formulation of policy relating to curriculum, admission and retention of students, credits, attendance, and the granting of degrees.

Recommendations in these matters by a Faculty, Faculty Council, or other organization created under a Board approved college governance plan to represent the Faculty, as provided for in the Bylaws, shall be forwarded to the Board by the President.

Board of Trustees

William C. Thompson, Jr., Chairperson

Barry F. Schwartz, Vice Chairperson​

Michael Arvanites

Henry T. Berger

Una S. T-Clarke

Lorraine Cortés-Vázquez

Fernando Ferrer

Kevin D. Kim

Mayra Linares-Garcia

Robert F. Mujica

Brian D. Obergfell

Jill O’Donnell-Tormey

Charles A. Shorter

Ken Sunshine

Sandra Wilkin

Martin J. Burke, (ex-officio) Chairperson, University Faculty Senate

Timothy G. Hunter, (ex-officio) Chairperson, University Student Senate


Félix V. Matos Rodríguez, Chancellor

José Luis Cruz, Executive Vice Chancellor and University Provost

Hector Batista, Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Operating Officer

Derek Davis General Councel & Sr.Vice Chancellor for Legal Affairs 

Glenda Grace, Senior Vice Chancellor for Institutional Affairs, Strategic Advancement and Special Counsel

Matthew Sapienza, Senior Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer

Allen Y. Lew, Senior Vice Chancellor for Facilities Planning, and Construction Management

Pamela S. Silverblatt, Senior Vice Chancellor for Labor Relations

Brian Cohen, Vice Chancellor and University Chief Information Officer

Maite Junco, Vice Chancellor for Communications and Marketing

Doriane K. Gloria, Vice Chancellor of Human Resources Management

Richard R. White, Vice Chancellor for Risk, Audit and Compliance

Gayle Horwitz, Senior Advisor to the Chancellor and Secretary to the Board of Trustees

Dolly Maríinez, Chancellor’s Chief of Staff and Associate Vice Chancellor for the Executive Office

Vivek Upadhyay, University Executive Registrar

Colleges of the City University of New York

Baruch College
Dr. S. David Wu, President

Borough of Manhattan Community College
Dr. Anthony E. Munroe, President

Bronx Community College
Dr. Thomas Isekenegbe, President

Brooklyn College
Michelle J. Anderson, President

City College
Dr. Vincent Boudreau, Interim President

College of Staten Island
Dr. William J. Fritz, President

Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at CUNY
Sarah Bartlett, Dean

CUNY Graduate Center
Robin L. Garrell, President

CUNY School of Labor and Urban Studies
Dr. Gregory Mantsios, Dean

CUNY School of Law
Mary Lu Bilek, Dean

CUNY School of Professional Studies
John Mogulescu, Dean

CUNY School of Public Health at Hunter College
Dr. Ayman El-Mohandes, Dean

Guttman Community College
Dr. Doris Cintrón, Interim President

Hostos Community College
Dr. Daisy Cocco De Filippis, Interim President

Hunter College
Jennifer J. Raab, President

John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Karol V. Mason, President

Kingsborough Community College
Dr. Claudia V. Schrader, President

Laguardia Community College
Kenneth Adams, President

Lehman College
Dr. Daniel Lemons, Interim President

Macaulay Honors College
Dr. Mary C. Pearl, Dean

Medgar Evers College
Dr. Rudolph F. Crew, President

New York City College of Technology
Dr. Russell K. Hotzler, President

Queens College
Frank H. Wu, President

Queensborough Community College
Dr. Christine Mangino, President

York College
Dr. Berenecea Johnson Eanes, President